Water!

Now I’m not going to tell you how to make water, but I am going to show you how to make water easier to drink!  The body is about 60% water (depending on the person) by drinking the correct amount of water your body stays balanced which helps transport nutrients, jump start your metabolism,  wake you up, and so many other benefits, just by adding water to your daily schedule! Now if you switch from soda/pop-whichever term you prefer-the average person will lose 22 pounds in the first year!

When I was about 11 I was diagnosed with Insulin Resistance, this is a disorder where you body doesn’t use the insulin it produces, causing it to try to produce even more to control sugar levels.  This often leads to type 2 diabetes if not correctly taken care of.  Now at this time I basically drank soda all the time with milk occasionally, but I made the decision to stop drinking soda, and to this day I haven’t had a drop! (That’s ten years!!) Because I now drink plain water all the time I tend to get bored. My mom’s friend began making fruit infused waters, these are better for you than juices because they are completely natural, you know exactly what you’re drinking, there are no added preservatives and junk, and you’re getting your water for the day!

juice ingredientsLook at how much extra junk is in here! Now can I point out that this is less than .5% natural flavors! Most of the ingredients are to help preserve it and add flavors but if you were to make it at home you would save money and be eating, or should I say drinking, healthier.

I will share with you my current favorite, Orange Mint water.  Making these infused waters is ridiculously easy, even those people who can’t seem to make anything (you know you you are) can do it!

Sliced oranges. Leave the peel on and throw the whole thing in, no waste!
Sliced oranges. Leave the peel on and throw the whole thing in, no waste!

Ingredients

  • 4 oranges, seeded or seedless, sliced into 1/4 inch rings
  • 5 sprigs of fresh mint, pull leaves off and gently rub
  • 3/4 Gallon of water
  • Enough ice to finish filling the container
  • 1/2 t of sugar or sugar substitute, I prefer Stevia.
Mint leaves. I tear the really big ones in half.
Mint leaves. I tear the really big ones in half.

Procedure

Before the ice
Before the ice
  1. Place sliced oranges and mint in pitcher, sprinkle with sugar/sweetener.
  2. Add cold water, stir to combine sugar/sweetener. Add ice and cover.
  3. Let chill in fridge for about 1-2 hours
  4. Enjoy!!
After Ice
After Ice
Leave a Reply

